Home > Ministry, Prayer > A Minister’s Prayer

A Minister’s Prayer

If you don’t have a copy of The Valley of Vision, you need to get one.  It is a collection of Puritan prayers and devotions.  I have found great encouragement in this little book.  In particular, I love the prayers of Service and Ministry.   Reading these prayers remind me that the things I am tempted with as a pastor and the struggles I face are no different from other pastors who have come before me.  Here is one that blessed me today.

O my Lord,

Let not my ministry be approved only by men,

or merely win the esteem and affections

of people;

But do the work of grace in their hearts,

call in thy elect,

seal and edify the regenerate ones,

and command eternal blessings on their souls.

Save me from self-opinion and self-seeking;

Water the hearts of those who hear thy Word,

that seed sown in weakness may be raised

in power;

Cause me and those that hear me

to behold thee here in the light of special faith,

and hereafter in the blaze of endless glory;

Make my every sermon a means of grace to myself,

and help me to experience the power

of thy dying love,

for thy blood is balm,

thy presence bliss,

thy smile heaven,

thy cross the place where truth

and mercy meet.

Look upon the doubts and discouragements

of my ministry

and keep me from self-importance;

I beg pardon for my many sins, omissions,

infirmities,

as a man, as a minister;

Command thy blessing on my weak,

unworthy labours,

and on the message of salvation given;

Stay with thy people,

and may thy presence be their portion

and mine.

when I preach to others let not my words

be merely elegant and masterly,

my reasoning polished and refined,

my performance powerless and tasteless,

but may I exalt thee and humble sinners.

O Lord of power and grace,

all hearts are in thy hands,

all events at thy disposal,

Set the seal of thy almighty will

upon my ministry.

Categories: Ministry, Prayer
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

