Home > Recommendations > Top Ten Books of 2011

Top Ten Books of 2011

December 26, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Here are my top ten books from 2011.

Jesus + Nothing = Everything, Tullian Tchividjian.  Easily one of my favorite books of 2011.  Tchividjian’s book has recently found some gracious criticism; but for me, I was deeply encouraged and beautifully reminded of Christ’s all-sufficient work.

The Meaning of Marriage, Tim Keller.  Of course no list would be complete without an annual contribution by Keller.  Keller brings a lot of realism and clarity to marriage.  As usual everything is saturated with gospel content.

Kings Cross, Tim Keller.  Ok, how about two books by Keller from 2011.  The book is essentially an overview of the life of Christ from the book of Mark.  In typical Keller fashion he hits hard against religion and reminds everyone why the gospel is good news.

A New Testament Biblical Theology, G.K. Beale.  I’m just getting into Beale’s work, but what I have read so far has been really helpful.  In this book, Beale is great at connecting the NT & OT together, and bringing out the eschatological nature of Scripture.

What Is the Mission of the Church, Kevin DeYoung & Greg Gilbert.  Another controversial book of 2011.  In my opinion, the authors provide a well-defined, biblically sound, and coherent argument.  I found the book to be encouraging and helpful.

Gospel, JD Greear.  I never heard of Greear until I came across his book; but I sure am glad I found it.  There is much in this book that I connected with, but what I found particularly helpful is how he applied the gospel practically.

Gospel Wakefulness, Jared Wilson.  Like Greear & Tchividjian we get hit again with the gospel.  Wilson wants us to not only understand the sufficiency of the gospel, but to savor its power more sweetly in our churches and in our lives.

The Christian Faith, Michael Horton.  What I get from Horton is that his approach to Systematics is from a clear Redemptive-Historical perspective.  In my opinion, that is what makes his volume unique over others.

Ezekiel, Peter Naylor. Most stuff on Ezekiel is either too dense or too short.  Naylor strikes a balance and provides insightful applications.  The beginning of his commentary is especially helpful where he covers an assortment of interpretative issues.

Historical Theology, Gregg Allison.  Allison’s volume is the companion work to Grudem’s Systematic Theology.  This book is accessible, easy to digest, and a very helpful book on the historical development of Christian doctrine.

Categories: Recommendations
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

