Home > Biblical Theology, Hermeneutics, Law > What is New Covenant Theology?

What is New Covenant Theology?

If you’re looking for an explanation of New Covenant Theology, Chad Richard Bresson has drafted a lengthy description.  Read it here.

  1. Tom Hicks
    November 4, 2010 at 8:42 am

    Chad, would you call yourself a “new covenant theologian?”

  2. Chad
    November 5, 2010 at 8:26 am

    Tom, at one time I would have considered myself a NC theologian. While I can agree with many of their points I have come to view some issues slightly different. Furthermore, I want to distance myself from making certain issues the “thing” we center ourselves around as believers. What about you?

  3. Tom Hicks
    November 5, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    I couldn’t agree more with your statement, “I want to distance myself from making certain issues the ‘thing’ we center ourselves around as believers.” I appreciate the redemptive-historical emphasis in NC theology, but most of all, I appreciate its Christ-centeredness and aversion to legalism. I would still identify myself as a “covenant theologian,” but some who proudly wear that label would disclaim me (some believe in more continuity than I do and some believe in less). If I were to choose historic theologians who represent my views best, the list would include Benjamin Keach, John Bunyan, and John Owen. Hope you’re doing well my friend!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

