Home > Commentaries > Commentary Series Rankings

Commentary Series Rankings

John Dyer has put together a helpful chart on how each commentary from each series ranks according to the reviews on his site.  He also made available John Walton’s recommended OT commentaries.  See it here.

Categories: Commentaries
  1. April 1, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Hi there! Can I leave a random comment, unrelated to this post? I had a quick question for you.

    My Bible is beginning to fall apart, and I will soon be in the market for another one. I am curious as to your opinion of the ESV translation?

    I ask because I’ve always been partial to the New American Standard version. The pastor of the first church I ever attended preached from the NAS. When I studied Greek in college, we compared several different translations and I found the NAS to be the most literal.

    But a lot of reformed authors seem to be partial to the ESV. Do you have an opinion?

    Thanks!

    Hillary

  2. Chad
    April 1, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Hillary,

    I used the NAS for many years and was very happy with it. However, when the ESV came out I began using it. It was hard to leave the NAS, but I have been very pleased with the ESV. In my opinion the ESV maintains faithfulness to the original languages without sacrificing readability. I would suggest reading sections of the ESV online and see what you think. You can click the ESV link on my blog for more details.

    Chad

  3. Matt Roberts
    May 20, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Is there a particular pool from which these commentaries all come? I didn’t see Luther, Calvin, McArthur, or Lenski, among others…

    • Chad
      May 21, 2010 at 8:21 am

      The commentaries you mention are helpful, but don’t fit the aim of the site. The commentaries listed on the site have a more academic flavor to them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

