Home > Gospel, Ministry, Other > Blog Update

Blog Update

I know that the term gospel-centered has become somewhat of a buzzword lately, but it is correct to view the gospel as the center of our theology, lives, and ministry.  Moreover, in my mind to be gospel-centered is to be Christ-centered, which includes seeing Christ as the goal of Scripture and the means by which our lives, our culture, and creation are renewed.   However, understanding the glorious gospel of Christ from the pages of Scripture involves practical application in our lives and ministries, which means being gospel-saturated.  God has made this truth more evident to me over the last few years of doing full-time ministry.  Thus, I have decided to make some minor changes to my blog to reflect a Christ-centered and gospel-saturated perspective.  The main theme will still be understanding the Scriptures from a Christ-centered perspective, but now I want to take that belief and see the gospel flesh itself out into our daily lives and ministries.  Here are some of the changes I’ve made and will make.

1.) I am still going to retain the same title for the blog (The Road to Emmaus); however, I have changed the theme and the subtitle of the blog. 

2.) I got rid of my Currently Reading page (I never kept up with it anyway) and moved the essays under Themes in Biblical Theology into the Resource page.

3.) In due time, I will expand the Resource page to include gospel-saturated resources.  I also deleted a few of my resources.

4.) I changed the Recommended Reading page.  I have deleted biblical theology books that I thought were more of the “academic” nature and listed ten or so books that I think are most essential for people in the church.  I have also added a section for gospel-saturated books on life, ministry, and a few other topics. 

My life has been extremely busy the last year or so with ministry and family.  Thus, my actual writing on the blog has been scarce.  However, with this new format I hope to have a renewed focus to share my thoughts.

Categories: Gospel, Ministry, Other
  1. August 29, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Things look good, Chad. I really like your new theme. Thanks also for the heads up on some of those Titus commentaries. Good stuff!

    blessings,
    John

  2. September 3, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Hey Chad,

    I also think the site looks good. I’m looking forward to the emphasis on the Gospel in our “daily grind”, so-to-speak. Hopefully you’ll find time to “share your thoughts” as I am always blessed when I read your material or listen to you speak.

    God Bless,

    Jason

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

