Exegetical Fallacies

I have tried to be very careful not to make my blog about the latest thing in Evangelicalism that is frustrating me, but I have to say something now.  Bad exegesis exists everywhere, but for some reason, within the last two months I have read and/or heard many respected Reformed Evangelical preachers/teachers commit the errors highlighted in D. A. Carson’s book, Exegetical Fallacies.  I was very disappointed and wondered if they had ever read Carson’s book.  Thus, I make a plea to every pastor, teacher, and Christian out there–read and re-read Carson’s book.  Even if you don’t know Hebrew or Greek the overall insights in the book are invaluable.  If you have not read Carson’s book; please buy a copy, read it, and pass it on to a friend.

  1. John
    June 10, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    I’m interested to know who you were listening to… 😉

    Hope you’re doing well!

  2. Chad
    June 11, 2009 at 7:24 am

    I’ll email you John.

  3. June 11, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Hey Chad,

    Shoot me an e-mail too, will you? I’m trying to broaden my listening/reading material and have been blessed by some ministries that have been…well…controversial in some doctrinal issues. Of course, I’d like to think that I recognize those aspects so as not to adversley affect me, but I’d also like to know what you see “out there” and from who so that I can be aware.

    Thanks Chad.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

