Home > Conferences > Back from the Gospel Coalition

Back from the Gospel Coalition

I’m back from the Gospel Coalition.  I have a few random thoughts.

1.) The worship was God-focused.  It was great to sing with some 3000+ brothers and sisters praises to Christ.  I was reminded why corporate worship is so important–it is what we will be doing for all eternity (Rev 5:9-10).

2.) The preaching was encouraging.  All the speakers had something helpful to say, but Keller, Ryken, Chapell, and Duncan were my favorites.  Interesting–all four are Presbyterian guys.  Of course, Carson was good as usual, and the two workshops I attended were helpful (Bullmore and Mahaney).

3.) It was great to see some seminary and pastor friends.  It is uplifting to see so many brothers that I know (and many I don’t know) express a deep love for the gospel and the local church by their attendance to the conference. 

4.) The book deals were great.  I purchased some books and probably would have got more, but the suitcase couldn’t handle them.

Categories: Conferences
  1. April 24, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    I wish we would’ve bumped into each other!

  2. Chad
    April 24, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    Me too.

  3. April 27, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Hey Chad,

    Sounds like a very edifying time. Are you planning on posting on some of the specifics of the meetings? I’m not very familiar with Keller (though someone loaned me his book “The Reason for God” and I thought it was pretty good.

    Also, Keller’s name came up in another blog that I like very much (vanguardchurch.blogspot.com). In the series, the writer is distinguishing between “Neocalvinism” and “Neopuritanism” as the two major strands of resurgent “Calvinism” in evangelical America. Do you see the same distinction? He sees Keller as falling into the “Neocalvinism” camp and Piper falling into the “Neopuritansim” camp. The way he is differentiating between the two strands of Calvinsim, I tend to agree with him.

    If you have a chance to check it out, let me know what you think.

    Jason

  4. Chad
    April 27, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    I wasn’t planning on writing anything detailed. If you go to the Gospel Coalition site you can hear and view the sermons there.

    I think that is a helpful distinction. Keller is in the NeoCalvinism camp (I don’t know if he would label himself as such). Keller does an excellent job engaging the culture with the gospel; much like Kuyper, et al.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

