Home > Quotes > Quote of the Week

Quote of the Week

It has been quite awhile since I’ve posted a quote, let alone write anything substantial on my blog.  I’ve had some major life events over the last few months, which you can see at my About page (new baby son, new ministry).  I will get back to writing more soon.  However, in the meantime I am reading Peter Leithart’s Old Testament survey again (A House for My Name) in preparation for a class I am teaching and appreciate this statement from his introduction.

Moral inferences should be drawn after we have grasped the shape of a particular passage and how it fits into the larger sweep of biblical history. (Leithart, A House for My Name, 15)

Categories: Quotes
  1. August 22, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Man,
    You are blessed!
    A new baby, a new ministry and friends like Jason Jolly.
    Jason, via his ‘All That Jazz…’ blog, recommended visiting your blog.
    And you know what? I am psyched about checking out “A House For My Name”.
    I wrote a considerable amount of material that I devoted an entire blog page to. (If you don’t mind me plugging it,) It is called, Love One Another. The URL is http://deityquest.blogspot.com/
    I have arranged it into seven chapters. The very first chapter is where you will see the foundational concept of “House” (baith) which also translates as “Family”.
    So, I’m anxious to see if this book, “A House For My Name” mentions the ‘family’ as a translation for (baith) ‘house’.
    Please drop by one of my blogs. I’d like to know if you would link with my blog, “Journaling For Growth” http://deityquest-jeleasure.blogspot.com/
    I already have hosted a link on my page for your blog.
    I will look forward to having some discussions with you later.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

