Home > Commentaries, Old Testament, Recommendations > Recommended Commentaries for Exodus

Recommended Commentaries for Exodus

I will be recommending commentaries for the book of Exodus with this post.

The Message of Exodus, by Alec Motyer.  Much like other volumes in the Bible Speaks Today series, this volume is concise, but informative.  Motyer has a keen eye for the major themes of the book as well as its structure.

 

Exodus, by Philip Ryken.  Ryken’s has produced a very readable commentary.  Ryken is very sensitive to redemptive-history and does a good job making connections to the New Testament.  As I have mentioned before, this series of books are sermons put into book form, so if you’re looking for more exegetical work this would not be the first place to start; however, this commentary is well worth checking out. 

 

Exodus, by John Currid.  This is a two-volume work that is concerned with interpreting the text and making connections to the New Testament.  Currid’s work is very solid, but lacks some overall depth that you may find in other commentaries. 

Exodus (The New American Commentary)

Exodus, by Douglas Stuart.  Although Stuart’s volume is the most exegetical of all the books listed (many good footnotes), he still manages to make many solid connections to the New Testament.  

 

Exodus, by Peter Enns.  Of all the commentaries on Exodus, I have enjoyed Enns’ volume the most.  Enns does a good job explaining the text, but I think what I appreciated most about his commentary is how he connects the book of Exodus to both the Old and New Testaments. 

Exodus (Apollos Old Testament Commentary), by T. Desmond Alexander, forthcoming.  Alexander already has a very short commentary on Exodus in the New Bible Commentary, which is quite good and this new commentary should be an excellent contribution to the book of Exodus from a redemptive-historical perspective.

Exodus (Two Horizons Old Testament Commentary), by Tremper Longman, forthcoming.  Longman has made many solid contributions to Old Testament studies and this future work should be no different.

  1. Juan Z
    August 2, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    I have been wondering this for a while. Do you buy each book and read them all?

    Juan

  2. Chad
    August 2, 2007 at 4:21 pm

    Juan,

    Thanks for the question.

    Every book I recommend I do so because I have read it. Almost all the commentaries I have read word-for-word, but with some I have read large sections and skimmed other sections. If I haven’t had a chance to dig into a book properly then I will say so (see Zechariah Commentaries). With forthcoming commentaries, I of course have not read them, but recommend forthcoming commentaries based on the authors and / or series. I do not read liberal commentaries or many critical commentaries. I am familiar with what authors approach the text from a redemptive-historical perspective or what series of commentaries generally do so and I start there and work my way through the commentaries.

    Due to my interest in biblical theology, my interests over the years have shifted to understanding the text (in comparison with apologetic issues, systematic theology, church history, et al.). I value other disciplines, but I just want to understand the Bible on its own terms; thus, my commentary recommendations are based on a practice I started about five years ago, which was to start reading through commentaries on a regular basis. It has been a great benefit and I thoroughly enjoy it.

    Chad

  3. Juan
    August 2, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Chad,

    Thanks for the reply and that leads me to another question. I have started to preach just about every Sunday and I stay very busy reading and I am always looking for great commentaries that will help me with my sermons. I have discovered that some are no help at all and I really get disappointed when that happens. I have started reading up on Biblical Theology and I hope to read a ton more since I start my Masters Program at Gordon-Conwell this fall. Would you consider these to be the best commentaries to help someone for their sermons?

    Thanks
    Juan
    PS- I did read your Zechariah recommendations-

  4. Chad
    August 2, 2007 at 8:49 pm

    I would encourage you to continue to build a solid biblical-theological foundation, which will come through reading books on the subject (see my recommend reading page). I think that is most crucial because it will give you a framework to understand the text and discern commentaries. However, to answer your question more directly, the commentary recommendations are for commentaries that are concerned with redemptive-historical issues, either directly or indirectly. In my original post when I introduced this series I made this point.

    https://theroadtoemmaus.wordpress.com/2007/05/13/recommended-commentaries-for-revelation/

    I sympathize with your frustrations about being disappointed with certain commentaries, especially when most are so expensive; however, that is why I have created these lists. I hope that these lists provide some help to people who want to understand the Bible from a biblical-theological framework. There is always going to be disappointment with any commentary for one reason or another, but that is why it is good to have several to draw from and that is why I make several recommendations based on varying degrees of helpfulness. I think I heard D. A. Carson say once that he consults (or owns) at least fifty commentaries for each book of the Bible.

  5. June 21, 2008 at 8:05 am

    Have you read B. S. Child’s commentary on Exodus? It’s meant to be pretty good.

  6. Chad
    June 21, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    I haven’t, but have heard the commentary is fairly good.

  7. November 21, 2008 at 12:59 am

    Hey, I was preparing to start Exodus in 2009 and hunting commentaries. Thanks for the insights. I already had several of these commentaries, but was glad for the good recommendation. I am espically impressed with NIV application commentary, and Currid.

    Thank you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

