Home > Quotes > Quote of the Week

Quote of the Week

I have been reading Peter Leithart’s book A House for My Name.  He makes reference to an interesting practice of medieval monks that I think is largely missed in our own day.

In his lovely study of medieval monasticism, Jean Leclercq notes that the medieval monks studied and commented on the Old Testament even more than the New.  They did this not because they confused the Old and the New but because of their understanding of what God was doing in the Old Testament.  For the medieval monks, the Old Testament was not merely a prefiguration of salvation in Christ, but the beginning of that salvation, albeit in a veiled form.  (Leithart, A House for My Name, 17)

Categories: Quotes
  1. June 24, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    I’ve been enjoying A House for My Name. I recently finished his commentary on I & II Samuel, which was helpful.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

